I Hide My Heart

I see your face in the frost
Lovingly carved in ice until the white disappears
and I see the truth behind your flesh

I am inadequate.

A torrential downpour of torrential rain rains upon your face
slowly melting away the remnants of beauty that I once saw

I am inadequate.

I have carved your face in the etchings of my heart
but the lines are fading

And I see your face in the frost, sometimes.

So now a fine layer of snow covers your eyes
and I forget to remember.

Perhaps the first snowflakes of an avalanche do not sow destruction.
And perhaps I am fool to think the future will not answer the past.

I hide my heart.
I am inadequate.

 

Inspired by: http://richardankers.com/2016/01/31/six-word-stories-broken-vows/

 

11 thoughts on “I Hide My Heart”

Leave a Reply

